History Banner2.jpg (11106 bytes)


Flight Service History


Last updated 06/22/11

FSS History
Class Photos
Facility Photos

Alaska Flight Service Managers and Staff 
January 1 1940 - The CAA established Region 8 covering all of Alaska.
Marshall Hoppin was appointed Regional Administrator. Assistants were:
Walt Plett, Assistant. RA
Al Hulen, Chief Communications
Jack Beardslee, Airway Engineer
G.A. Whittaker, Chief Fairbanks
Bill Hickock, Chief Anchorage
Al Hulen relieved Hoppin as R.A. (Al Hulen was the First Communications
man to become Regional Administrator in the CAA).

Staffing of stations were as follows:
Gravino Island - Hoilingsworth
Cordova & Fairbanks – Whittakerm
Juneau -Vic Post
Nome - Grant McMurry
Ruby - Geo Beckett
Summit - J. Flynn
Talkbtna - Ed Musgrave
Yakutat - Thomas Cianfrani

Aniak & Kenai – Lawton
Kodiak – Carl Bassler
McGrath & Moses Point - Norris Kumler
Sitka - Ray Operlund

Bethel – Wootan
Farewell – Mckay
Galena - Ralph Jennings
Gulkana – Johnson
Gustavus – Dufrane
Homer – Gulley
Iliamna – Uzzell
Kotzebue & Minchumina - Dick Collins
Northway - Carl Shute
Yakataga - Joe Tippetts
Big Delta - Inman

Nenana - Robert. Leise
Tanana - John Andrews
Unalakleet - Ed Klopp

1944 and later
Bettles – Robbins
Skwentna - George Wilkins

OTHER - Precise Date Unknown
King Salmon (48) Plagge
Middleton Island (MRL)
Petersburg - Vernon Counter
Point Barrow - Roy Roose
Fort Yukon (WB 278KC) - John Flynn
The OFAC (Overseas Station) was commissioned at Anchorage Dec. 1,
1942 - E.F. Bill Hickok, Chief. The OFACS at Everett, Washington was
commissioned at the same time to provide communications stateside.
During 1942 Flight Assistance Service was officially inaugurated by CAA
at all Stations.

Return to Facility Photos home page. 


FillerTr.gif (48 bytes)

        Please send  comments regarding this page to Webmaster